top of page

Turning Back, Part 1


Exodus 14 (NIV)

14 Then the Lord said to Moses, 2 “Tell the Israelites to turn back and encamp near Pi Hahiroth, between Migdol and the sea. They are to encamp by the sea, directly opposite Baal Zephon. 3 Pharaoh will think, ‘The Israelites are wandering around the land in confusion, hemmed in by the desert.’ 4 And I will harden Pharaoh’s heart, and he will pursue them. But I will gain glory for myself through Pharaoh and all his army, and the Egyptians will know that I am the Lord.” So the Israelites did this.

It seems fitting I would be in the 14th chapter of Exodus for a season.

Now, it does. Last week it didn’t.

I had three days of Exodus 14 meeting me at every turn in my day.

Go back.

Stand Still.

Fear not.

Watch.

Do what you were told to do.

I have read –heard-been told-watched the story of Exodus dozens of time. I missed a very important part.

Here in the first few verses God tells them to go back and encamp by the sea across from Baal Zephron, the God of Storms. Others will think they are confused and wandering, but they know God is their direction.

Later He tells them to stand and not be afraid. Then He tells them to GO.

Kind of like my life right now. After a long ten years of caring for family, business, and home, I see my life turning back to another time. A season of words and teaching.

Others may see me as a wandering. I guess is many ways I am, but I am wandering in a seeking way. I see each single step in God’s path. That is all. A single step. Very limited visibility. That is okay.

I have learned it is not always healthy and encouraging to see what is down the path. Today is the moment.

I have doubled back to recreate Java, Jeans ‘n Jesus.

I have doubled back to listening to bring words to paper and the world.

We will see where this ride goes.

Knowing God, we are headed past the storm, straight across the pass and into the Promised Land.

Saddle up.

Don’t forget the java and your jeans.

Author's update: This first appeared in 2014. It is totally appropriate today as I redesign and relaunch Java, Jeans, and Jesus. God has a way of bringing us back to places he has called us to and provided for us. This time it is easier to trust him because the last time definitely worked out better than I ever dreamed.

Has he called you back to something? Let's travel together.

Still in jeans and with java!

bottom of page