top of page

Clearing Things Up

Philippians 3:15-16 (The Message)

So let’s keep focused on that goal, those of us who want everything God has for us. If any of you have something else in mind, something less than total commitment, God will clear your blurred vision—you’ll see it yet! Now that we’re on the right track, let’s stay on it.

I have a precise routine with my glasses and contacts. I wake up, put on my glasses, have coffee, maybe breakfast, take off glasses and put on contacts. I then leave the glasses next to the contacts lens case. In the evening, out with the contacts, on with the glasses. Leave classes on night stand.

Pretty simple, huh?

It has worked for several years.

I am blind as a bat, so keeping the routine has been essential to my survival.

You know the drill. Doing the required to get through.

Then, for some reason, I didn’t.

And along with everyone else in my house, I searched for my glasses for almost a week.

They were no where.

I drug out an old pair, but they were scratched and blurry. What once gave me clear vision didn't really work so well.

Then. I found them. Just that easy.

I sat down in my chair. Calmed my spirit. Prayed. A quiet voice said to look right. I did.

There they were. Right where I left them.

That moment became about more than misplaced items and lack of focus. It became a lesson in going to the right place to get the “vision” I need to see all there is.

That chair is where I spend my quiet moments. The glasses were sitting next to my Bible and devotionals. The fact I was looking for days reveals I had not been enjoying the quiet or seeking wisdom for those days.

The message was, “This is where you should be coming to get the type of vision you need. I can help you see clearly. I am the one who will help your blurred vision.”

Since I wasn’t missing hearing aids, I know I heard correctly.

I plan to be back there more often.

bottom of page