top of page

Little Things, Part 2




Change a Letter, Change an Outlook.


“The LORD’s anger burned against Israel and he made them wander in the wilderness forty years…” Numbers 32:13


I am coming out of a season of wandering. Not really proud of it, but it happens. Recently, it has come to my attention God LET the Israelites wander. I think He did it as much for discipline as He knew what they would learn on the path.


Over the last 25 years, I have learned a bunch. I think of the mountain across the bay from camp in Maine. Daily winds over centuries have taken the rough edges off that mountain. Fortunately, it didn’t take centuries to work off some of my rough edges. I see life differently now. Things come and go, and I know there is a process in place-even if I did not get the outline or a print out that included step by step directions.


I think God let me wander because He knew that I would soon exchange one letter and go from wandering to wondering.


One letter makes a directionless word take notice and fill up with questions. We all have so many questions. Why do people have to be so mean? Why can’t we love what it is Christ loves in each person? I just don’t get it and I wonder what God has to say.


After wandering and wondering, it is time to just be quiet and stand in awe of His wonders.


They are still here. We just have to focus a little more.


“Many, Lord my God,

are the wonders you have done,

the things you planned for us.

None can compare with you;

were I to speak and tell of your deeds,

they would be too many to declare.”

Psalm 40:5


Skies are still blue, breezes blow, tides change. Often the little wonders give us greatest joy.


God is still around.


Now is the time to stop wandering and wondering and just seek to know His wonders.

bottom of page