top of page

What does it mean to receive?

From blessing to bad news. How do you receive?


"Then Peter and John placed their hands on them, and they received the Holy Spirit." Acts 8:17, NIV


I have been doing a little listening the past few days. There are times when I just slow down and look at one word...not whole chapters or books, but one word and how is it used and what does it mean.


Right now, the Holy Spirit has "receive" in my face a whole lot.


And I am realizing I can only receive what I am willing to open my hands and obtain.


Sometimes, things are given to you and you receive them. You don't have to put any effort into it, it is coming whether you reach out or not. That is not really what I am talking about here.


No, what I am talking about is receiving from God. I wonder how many times he has offered something and I did not reach out and take it? You see, I am beginning to realize that receive is definitely an action verb. I did a little word investigation with the scripture above.


In this verse with in Acts, Peter and John are praying for new believers and laying hands on them so they can be filled with the Holy Spirit. The form of "receive" used is not a gentle form. It is about a voracious commitment to get something. To obtain all that is possible and assertively grasp it.


They could have prayed for years. If the people receiving were seeking and willing to take it, it would have hung in the air unclaimed.


I don't want to be that person. I want to be greedy when it comes to the presence of the Holy Spirit.


I want to be filled to capacity. And more.

bottom of page